Page Information
Page Title:
Page Description:


In 1945, before Myamar gained its independence , the supervisory office of Social Welfare and Rehabilitation was established to conduct the activities of social welfare and natural disaster prevention. Lately, after 1948, during the time of independence gained, the office was reorganized as the ministry of education, social welfare and resettlement. After that, the name of the office had changed as the ministry of education, relief and resettlement in 1952 and it had changed as the ministry of ethnic minority and relief and resettlement again in the same year to with the purpose of implementing the activities of natural disaster preparation, relief and resettlement and providing necesarry assistance. But in 1957, due to the political change, it had modied the name of the office as the ministry of Relief, Resettlement and National Reconciliation. In 1972, when the new administration took over, the office was reconstituted as Ministry of Social Welfare. At the beginning, there are two departments under the ministry as department of social welfare and department of relief and resettlement.

1992,the State Law and Order Restoration Council transformed the Ministry of Social Welfare into the Ministry of Social Welfare, Relief and Resettlement with three departments including The Fire Services department under its Notification 14/92 dated 19-02-1992.

On 6th November 2012, the Department of Fire Services was transferred to the Ministry of Home Affairs due to the nature of work and to be in accord with the contemporary situations, and so there are only two departments left under this ministry---the Social Welfare Department and Relief and Resettlement Department.

There are 265 Officer and 2876 Staff(Total 3141) under the Ministry.According to the need of the civil servants, the Ministry increased the office in Division Region and Training school for two departments.On 2015 March 31, the Ministry has 620 Officer and 4314 Staff (total 4934) were present.

Ministry of Social Welfare, Relief and Resettlement have 620 officials, 4314 staffs and total 4934 with the extension of the organization set up for the development of administrative mechanism on 1st April 2015.

On 10th March 2016, Department of Social Welfare extended its organization set up and the Ministry have the officials were 624, staffs were 4632 and total was 5256.

Both of two departments, Department of Social Welfare and Relief and Resettlement Department were extended their organization set up on 6th July 2017.  So there were 1965 officials, 14614 staffs and the total was 16579.

On 31st January 2018, under the Ministry of Social Welfare, Relief and Resettlement, Department of Rehabilitation was established with the staffs from the existing two departments. Moreover the name of Relief and Resettlement Department was changed to Disaster Management Department.

So the following are the current organization set up of Ministry of Social Welfare, Relief and Resettlement,


To fulfill the social needs of the citizens of the Republic of Union of Myanmar and to conduct the Disaster Management activities in accordance with the international standards


Unable to load tooltip content.